Reviews

9.4
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.8
Comfort
9.6
Property location
9.1
Facilities
9.6
Staff
9.7
Value
8.6

Reviews

    Ai
    us

    Review score

    10
    20 September 2018

    Incredible place to enjoy the relaxation of Hakone!

    If you aren’t planning on going outside of the Ryokan, then you’ll be fine but if you want to venture out often, taxi is really the only way to do so. So as long as you’re ok with that, as we were, you’ll have no issues!
    The staff was extremely friendly and the food was so incredibly delicious!! It was the most relaxing part of our overall trip in Japan!
    ラフ
    jp

    Review score

    10
    18 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Laura
    gb

    Review score

    10
    14 September 2018

    A special place and experience

    Nothing
    Our stay at this hotel was a joint celebration treat for our honeymoon and my birthday and it didn't disappoint. We went for the option of the hot spring in our room as well as breakfast and dinner. More than a stay it was a beautiful experience and we loved every minute. The staff were lovely and treated us with so much kindness during our stay. Our room assistant who served us our incredible meal was again very kind and helpful. The location is lovely, a quiet road in a quiet town. The ryokan is very peaceful and quiet. The hot spring in our room was amazing and we completely relaxed, something we don't often get to do. The meals were incredible. We really felt immersed ourselves in Japanese culture and cuisine during our stay here and if you are looking for something special I would recommend this place.
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    13 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Angela
    ca

    Review score

    9.2
    6 September 2018

    Great onsen experience!

    Not close to the train station.
    Great service and delicious food. Definitely get the private onsen. First onsen experience and we were blown away by the experience.
    Yue
    au

    Review score

    10
    1 September 2018
    Everything is perfect. I would definitely stay here again if I visit Hakone again. The receptionist lady speaks very good English and everything went smoothly. We were late for diner (it’s totally our fault) but the hotel even sent a car to get us from the bus stop. Most of all, the food is just amazing! Would highly recommend it.
    KEE SC
    sg

    Review score

    9.2
    21 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Blooming529
    cn

    Review score

    8.8
    12 August 2018
    N/A
    The service is excellent. The food is very delicious. The location is a bit far from the train station, but close to the lake and could see Fuji Mountain from the window.
    Jean-Pierre
    fr

    Review score

    10
    1 August 2018

    A little haven in Hakone

    There was nothing to complain about.
    The staff were beyond excellent and the facilities are impeccable. Apart from this the meal we were offered on the evening of our stay was literally a work of art both in terms of taste as well as presentation.
    be

    Review score

    10
    29 July 2018
    This is a really charming ryokan. The food was fan-tas-tic!!! This is Michelin star quality. The staff is super friendly and service is in their dna.
    Helene
    de

    Review score

    9.2
    22 July 2018
    Excellent service, wonderful onsen, fantastic meals. A dream.
    Bernardo
    be

    Review score

    8.8
    16 July 2018
    We were disappointed to find out that the Japanese garden of our room was actually “off bounds” - it is there only for the view (i.e. for you to look at) but you cannot explore it as otherwise you would be able to look into your neighbours onsen. Not sure this was clear in the Booking.com description but it took us by surprise. The lady that took care of our meals (guests are “assigned” an assistant) was extremely nice and helpful but didn’t speak a word of English, so we had no idea what we were eating or how we were supposed to eat it. That was not a problem for us as we are a relaxed couple, but I can imagine some people feeling totally alienated.
    Beautiful and peaceful property in an excellent location in Hakone, if slightly tricky to find. This is more of an experience than a proper stay, so you should reflect whether it is your style - you may love it or hate it depending on whether you don’t mind to be overwhelmed with attention from the staff and have strict schedules for eating dinner and breakfast. The negative remarks I make are not meant to suggest we didn’t like it, on the contrary; we loved it! But some minor things could be improved to make this an even more memorable experience.
    Jonathan
    us

    Review score

    10
    12 July 2018
    Leaving.... It was sad to go but we hope to return someday.
    Our visit capped off a two week stay in Japan. It was wonderful to relax in our outdoor tub after a day of taking in the breathtaking scenery of Harkone. The staff were fantastic and very accommodating. The food was so good. We loved our stay.
    Dimitrius
    au

    Review score

    10
    28 June 2018

    Incredible

    Nothing
    Amazing. For those wanting the traditional Japanese cultural experience, this is the place for you. The food here is an epic experience! The Kaiseki menu is one of the best I have experienced in all my travels through Japan. It is served in your room by the wonderful hostess that will be catering your stay, and is presented like nothing I have seen. The rooms are quite large and have Tatami mats throughout, which are amazingly comfortable on your bare feet. The beds in our room were Futons and are made for you by the hostess. The grounds are beautiful and serine, making our stay very relaxed and calming. Our room boasted a outdoor mini Onsen, just the thing after a long days trekking throughout Hakone. The property is located close to the bus stop and lake Ashi, which gives you many options to get around and see all the major attractions. Be sure to purchase the Hakone free pass, and you will have access to all buses, trains, rope car and the scenic boat cruise, which is really good value. The staff here are truly amazing and bend over backwards to make sure you have a great stay. They operate a shuttle from the bus stop to the property also, just call ahead and let them know when you will be arriving. I highly recommend a stay at Yoshimatsu, you will leave knowing the true Japan. The food alone is mind blowing..
    Kaly97480
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    13 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Tarek
    ca

    Review score

    9.2
    23 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    id

    Review score

    7.5
    16 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us

    Review score

    10
    9 September 2018
    Gorgeous property, wonderful staff, wonderful food, amazing service, easy to access
    us

    Review score

    10
    3 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Duarte Rosário De Carvalho
    pt

    Review score

    9.2
    1 July 2018
    The location is not the best since it's quite far from Hakone station and we had to take a cab to arrive and leave the ryokan.
    Amazing experience sleeping in a ryokan. The staff is extremely helpful and caring to ensure you have and unforgettable experience. The kaiseki breakfast and dinner are definitely a must have experience. Since we were a group of 6 we had our meals served in a private room with a beautiful view to the garden.
Loading reviews